Tips For Diet Success

By definition, a diet is “to select or limit the food one eats to improve one’s physical condition or to lose weight”.

So we have all at one point in our lives tried a diet or two. It works for some because they do it right and doesn’t for others either because they are doing it wrong or they weren’t determined enough.

Before you start any diet, you need to check with your doctor or a nutritionist. They could tell you not to attempt it because it may be harmful to your health, or it may not be giving you the proper nutrients.

I’ve tried diets too. I remember when I read about Beyonce doing the Cayenne-Pepper liquid diet for two weeks and lost 10 kgs. I lasted exactly a day, and landed myself in hospital.

That was many years ago though. I have since reformed and now use the gym to keep fit and healthy.

There are so many diets out there. Eat once a day, eat only fruits etc. I am not saying they are all bad but talk to a doctor or a nutritionist. These diets may work for some people but they don’t work for all. You don’t need to starve yourself to get skinny, intact you add more weight.

Try portion control. I do that. I eat whatever has been cooked at home but in portions. I will not fill up my plate till kingdom come. All i need is enough to keep me going. I always have veggies with all my meals and fruit as a snack.

Its okay to eat at a restaurant once in a while – don’t completely deprive yourself from the joy of food! Life is too short. Enjoy but in portions.

Drink lots of water every day – 2 litres is recommended per day, but I do 1.5 at least.

If you are on a diet right now whether it’s working or not, I am not discouraging you but merely asking you to check with your doctor or nutritionist to see if it may be harmful to your health.

Don’t just look for diets off the internet – most of the time they are written by people who have no idea what they are talking about. Do your research well and STAY AWAY from diet pills.

Let’s get healthy and remember you are your own motivation!

Leave a Reply

